Yasiin Bey & Marvin Gaye – Yasiin Gaye: The Return (Full Album)

Yasiin Gaye: The Return (Side Two)

As promised, we’re excited to finally share side two of Amerigo’s Yasiin Bey (FKA Mos Def) & Marvin Gaye conceptual collaboration, Yasiin Gaye. Shifting focus for the project’s second installment, the producer aimed to highlight the often overlooked accomplishments of Marvin Gaye’s role as the producer.
“I wanted to build this side from more of Marvin’s original production work. He was doing a lot of what we do now, in terms of looping and pulling samples from other pre-recorded sessions decades before hip-hop made it common practice to do so. This also gave me the room to feature other artist [Chuck Berry, The Temptations, Talib Kweli, etc.] and re-present those classic Mos [Def] verses in a new context.”
To shed light on our copyright battles (and the urgent need for reform), we teamed up with New Yorker magazine cartoonist Drew Dernavich, who created the satirical visuals for the album’s artwork. Grab the full album below and look out for Amerigo’s detailed liner-notes included with your download.


1. Intro Theme (The Return)
2. Travellin’ Man Pt. II (Distant Lovers Mix)
3. Undeniable (feat. The Temptations)
4. Ghetto Rock (feat. Chuck Berry)
5. Sex, Love & Money
6. RE: Introduction
7. This Means You (feat. Talib Kweli)
8. Anna’s Love Song
9. Living For The Funk (feat. Toshi)
10. Modern Marvel Pt. I
11. High Drama (feat. Mike Zoot)
12. B Stands For Beef 
13. A Message To The People
14. There is a Way
15. Climb (Interlude)
16. Modern Marvel Pt. II
17. Umi Says 
18. End Credits (feat. Andy Flory)
19. Ms. Fat Booty Pt. II (feat. Ghostface Killah) (Bonus Track)




Scroll to Top